Ain’t We Got Strange?

I know I’ve mentioned before that one of the top five descriptors one might choose for my son Lyle is random; well, Wonderfriends, it just keeps getting better.   I’d like to record a few recent examples for posterity:

1) “Mommy? You know how I keep my water cup quiet at night?*  I just spread strawberry jam on it!”

2)  The boys are ridiculously insane together when they’re getting ready for bed.  With me, of course, and especially on the days when Lyle hasn’t napped.  He’s a maniac by bedtime.  They act perfectly calm with their father, however.  (Go figure.)  Lately, Baxter has been leaning down from the top bunk and begging Lyle to “juggle” for him. “Just one more time, Lyle?” he asks.   “Okay, Brother Dear!” yelps Lyle in perfect imitation of The Berenstain Bears Forget their Manners, and he proceeds to stand in the middle of the bedroom floor, knees slightly bent, and perform a wildly exagerrated pantomime of juggling invisible balls.  As if there were forty balls in the air at once.  The facial expression is matched only by the hysterically funny posture.   Baxter and I can hardly stand it, it’s so crazy funny.

3) Lyle has an imaginary baby who now lives under the blue couch in the play room.  He has named him “Gago”.  Gago was borned 10 days ago, growed in Lyle’s own 3 1/2 year old tummy, and is 4 years old.  I can’t tell you how delighted he was when Matt and I crouched down to see Gago and exclaimed over his adorableness.  His very literal brother looked down there and said quite kindly, “I’m gonna need a flashlight, Lyle, because I just don’t see him anywhere.” I suggested he look with his imagination, and Baxter turned and said, proving the point he’d been trying to make when he heard about Gago earlier, “Oh, so he’s not real?”  Umm, no, honey.   Matt has taken full credit for Baxter’s adherence to realism, while I have to say that the totally bizarre stuff might look a little more familiar to my kin.

*Is this a problem your kids have?  The sippy cup valves that squeak at odd times during the night and keep your child awake?

11 responses to “Ain’t We Got Strange?

  1. I love this post, most particularly the baby under the sofa. Yesterday was my son’s imaginary friend Hippy’s birthday. He forgets many things, but every year, right around this time, he remembers that Hippy (who apparently lives in California, now) turns another year older. I’m pretty sure the whole thing is just an excuse to have cake. Maybe you should let Lyle in on this little tidbit: birthday parties for imaginary friends/babies = cake.

  2. Hilarious! I love the way kids’ imaginations mix the unreal and the surreal. Baxter’s response to the hidden baby is classic.

  3. I don’t get it.
    I’ll have to ask the team of elves that travel with me wherever I go.

    BTW, I want both of your boys in my acting classes. STAT.

  4. Lyle sounds like Will–surreal life with left-field solutions.

    Cute stuff. We do not have a baby living under our sofa, however.

  5. Strange?? NOPE. Beautiful and brilliantly creative…FOR SURE! And, you know, the solution to the sippy cup problem was solved here by using the kind with the straw and closing it at bedtime. Oh, of course, we keep it in the kitchen, too… that might explain all the strange noises I hear from downstairs…

  6. I love it!…now I know how to keep water cup quiet at night!! 😉

  7. BTW this photo is super cute!!

  8. 3 1/2 is such a quirky, fun age. He’s a cutie!

  9. I LOVE it. Lyle is hilarious! And cute!

  10. P.S. I can just see/hear you suggesting to Baxter to look “with his imagination”!! Hee! With clenched teeth and and an elbow to the ribs. 🙂

    Okay, I promise to stop commenting now!!!! Sheesh!!!!!

  11. My four year old son gives birth to a LOT of babies. He finds that being pregnant while wearing a pink dress really help him out. 😉

Leave a Reply

