Notes and Such

Please excuse this half-assed list format update on life at Chez Wonderwheel, but it’s all I’ve got in me tonight:

1.  My grandfather is doing much, much better!  He’s moved from the hospital to rehab, is eating and walking around with a cane, and ought to be home in a couple weeks.  All out-of-state family members have gone back home now, some after a harrowing 3-week stay.  Although his health will continue to be vulnerable, my awesome Papa has bounced back in a way that, frankly, didn’t seem possible when I was there.

2.  Speaking of bouncing back, Matt’s iPhone – you know, the one he took for a swim in Lake Michigan over the weekend – showed some signs of life today.  Mainly cries for help, but life nonetheless.  There is hope.

3.  I had the distinct pleasure of spending an hour in Baxter’s classroom today, where the kids took turns reading their Young Authors stories and complimenting each other on them.  His was called “Super Heroes” and was a great, imaginative story.  He was so pleased to have me there, and proud of his accomplishment.  Rightfully so!

 

4.  I made time today to take myself out for a pedicure.  While I was picking out one of my usual deep red shades of OPI polish, my eyes continued to roam to the orange one.  Orange?  Orange??  Sitting down with both, I had to admit to myself that I wanted to try orange.  Maybe it’s the summery weather we had over the weekend, or possibly the signs of life everywhere from my grandfather to Matt’s iPhone to the robins in our yard.  Whatever the reason, I went with this fun, bright orange and I’m loving it.  It might’ve been 50 degrees here this morning, but I was wearing summer.   I must’ve gotten five compliments in the first two hours!

 

That is all.

11 responses to “Notes and Such

  1. I’m so happy to hear your grandfather is doing well. Happy endings to life’s little episodes are too few and far between–so, hooray for this one!

    In fact, your entire list deserves one big hooray!

  2. I’m so happy to read that your grandfather is making such an impressive recovery. I have thought about him every time my bloglines account tells me there’s a new post here at the Wonderwheel.

    The toes look fab! 🙂

  3. Cute shoes! Glad your grandfather is doing so much better! Whew. All good stuff. 🙂

  4. I was just wondering about Grandpa the other day. Thank goodness! Glad to hear that he is so much better;
    How proud you must be of your young author – know you know how Shakespeare’s mother felt (and hopefully not Augusten Burroughs!)
    and finally…
    love the polish and the cute shoes. (Coach?)

  5. Thanks for thinking of my grandfather, everyone. That’s very kind of you. It’s a huge relief to us all.

    The shoes are the Dansko sandals I bought in Brooklyn. They are very comfy and fun! Especially with orange toenail polish.

  6. So very glad he is on the mend! Everything else is just a bonus! I would never in a million years have thought of orange polish, but it looks so fresh and summery. Baxter looks so proud!

  7. I’m so glad to hear your grandfather’s health has improved. I don’t know if I’d be brave enough to try orange, but it looks great on you.

  8. Yay! Yay for everything! 🙂

    On a side note about orange nail polish, Michael picked that color (!!) when his friends took him out for his pre-wedding party. Yup, those manly men went camping…and for a pedicure.

  9. P.S. It looks way better on you!!!

  10. I love orange on my toes, and purple and bronze and even fuschia. When summer comes, it’s time to rock the piggies!

  11. Did anyone else just hear Vicki say: “it’s time to rock the piggies”??

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

