Talk to me about BlogHer ‘08

Okay, let’s chat about BlogHer!  First, I was going for sure, then I became fairly sure I couldn’t swing it at all.  And I was kind of okay with that.

UNTIL, that is, I heard about the “MommyBlogging: Blogging About Our Children with Special Needs” panel that includes some of my absolute favorite bloggers on that podium together – those among my daily reads, for sure – that will be taking place in San Francisco on Saturday, July 18.   We’re talking about Susan Etlinger, Vicki Forman (of Love You to Pieces fame), Jennifer Graf Groneberg (of Road Map to Holland fame), and Kristina Chew!  Holy amazing bloggers, Batman!!  Read on:

 

MommyBlogging: Blogging About Our Children with Special Needs If parenting in general can be isolating, it can be more so when raising a child with special needs. Susan Etlinger, Shannon Des Roches Rosa aka Squid Rosenberg, Kristina Chew, Jennifer Graf Groneberg and Vicki Forman are among those MommyBloggers who are blogging their experiences…and finding both a community…and a cause. Join them. Share your story. Find out how, to quote Vicki, “…to embrace and treasure what makes us all different. And the same.”

The question suddenly changed from, “How could I ever go?” to “How do I make this happen??”  Thankfully, Matt was on board with this and simply said, “You have to go.  You’re going,” and we figured it out.

I’m working down in Carmel the week following BlogHer, so we’ve worked out a scenario in which I fly out there with the boys on Friday, get them settled down at my parents’, which is very near to Carmel, and then hightail it back up to San Francisco early Saturday.  I’ll catch as much of Saturday’s offerings as possible, but if I only make it to that one panel I’ll be perfectly happy.  Well, okay, and I need to have dinner and hang out with everyone that night, let’s not forget that.  I have a room at the Westin, which I’m sharing with a delightful blogging friend, and I’ll head back down to my parents’ on Sunday.  Done and done.  Hooray!!

So.  Tell me.  Are you in?  Because I want to meet every single one of you there, you hear?

11 responses to “Talk to me about BlogHer ‘08

  1. LA LA LA LA…I can’t hear you! I’m not listening…
    Okay, I am listening and sighing with envy and frustration. It’s just not in the cards (or budget!!!) this year. Take lots of pictures!

  2. I know, Niksmom. If I couldn’t combine it with both a business trip and a visit to see my parents, there’s no way I could go, either. My ticket’s being paid for by another party. You’ll be there in spirit, we know that.

  3. Hang in there, Niksmom. If I wasn’t already going to be in LA, there’s no way I’d be going. Next year? Blogher in Delaware!!!

    Ok, Jordan, I’m in. And I want wine with my dinner.

  4. I think that trip would be awesome and I would love to go. Alas, not in the cards here.

    You – have a terrific time!

  5. I wish I could be there! That panel sounds incredible. I like your plan and look forward to your thoughts on your time there! Next year perhaps?

  6. For those who can’t come, you know what they say, “next year in Jerusalem.” And for those who will be there, we’ll drink a toast. I’m tingling with anticipation!

  7. oh, jordan! what a great plan! have the most RESPLENDENT time!

  8. I’m so envious!! I live right across the bay, but we’ll be vacationing in Montana at exactly that time. Bummer!! Have a great time!

  9. I am so glad you are able to go!! Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

