Do All the Good You Can

As I helped my last client of the day recreate the blanket fort he built in therapy last week, it dawned on me that I mentioned this the last time I posted here, which can only mean it’s been a full week since I wrote.

There are so many post fragments floating in and out of my consciousness, with no time to sit and write any of them down.  I find myself both working intensively on things that need to be done right now and simultaneously trying to play a massive game of catch-up.  On Saturday night I stayed up late and finally responded to emails that I had flagged as “important” back in late July/early August.  I have reports that I meant to write in July that remain unfinished, and because no one is asking for them (they aren’t initial reports, just testing done on kids I still see) they have not moved up in the queue.  Yesterday I spent five straight hours calculating my income and expenses from May through the present and estimating income for me and my new full-time employee, in order to meet with my accountant today.  The to do list is long and self-perpetuating, and everything on it is rather critical.

And so the posts just continue to gather dust in my mind as I tend to these other things right now, but as you know I am still trying to read and comment on what you all have to say.  Tonight I read a very nice post by Mari, a great writer on my blogroll from Australia.  I enjoyed the whole post, but my favorite part was this quote by John Wesley, which serves to remind me of exactly why I am so busy right now and makes me feel a little bit better about it:

“Do all the good you can,
By all the means you can,
In all the ways you can,
In all the places you can,
At all the times you can,
To all the people you can,
As long as ever you can.”

Lovely, no?

12 responses to “Do All the Good You Can

  1. Lovely, indeed. Thanks for sharing that!

  2. Very lovely. And fitting for you, too, I think. You DO do good things for so many and in so many ways. We know you are incredibly busy right now laying the foundation for doing more good things for more people and training and teaching others how to do the good, too. I can’t imagine how incredibly proud of you the people who know you IRL must be; I’m honored to “know” you the little bit I do. 🙂

  3. Words to live by, or at least try to live up to!

  4. Quite lovely. And how I wish you could work with my daughter.

  5. Yes. And I’ve often found myself thinking the same thing as delilah.

  6. Lovely indeed. You are such an inspiration! I am proud to know you and often wish I had your focus and ability to keep going, doing all you can. I hate the feeling of always playing catch-up. I know how that blog build-up feels (someone coined it blog-stipation), but you can only do so much, right?

  7. I so enjoy when a quote gets it just right. Breath deep, Jordan, you are in the midst of a lot of good work.

  8. To that I might add, “and plan some recovery!” You DO DO DO so much, Jordan, you can allow yourself a deep breath of taking a break.

  9. Thanks, Vicki. I SO agree. I’m working on that, and am scheduling time for me — a facial last week, maybe a mani/pedi this week…a massage is on the horizon…gym dates in the mornings. Trying to fit in that recovery time each week. It’s another blog post to come.

    xoxo to you all.

  10. Reason 15,347 why I love you Jodie. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Pingback: BabyCenter: MOMformation » Blog Archive » Rosh Hashanah: The Jewish high holy days part I

Leave a Reply

