My Personal Twilight Zone

I feel a little like I’ve been living in the Twilight Zone for the past week.  It started last Sunday with a bad cold that forced me to miss a day at work and kept me under the weather all week.  On Thursday, Lyle became sick with a different sort of illness that’s, well, a messier type of thing.  He finally seemed to be bouncing back from that this morning but by early evening it was clear that he now has the bad cold, too. He has been napping 3-4 hours every day and then sleeping 12 hours per night.  He’s quiet and sweet in between, happy to cuddle on the couch and read piles of books or watch a video.  He smiles and says “Okay,” very softly after everything I say to him.  Baxter was very congested tonight, too, and my head cold is not completely gone yet.  Everybody’s on their inhalers.

Someone has been home in their pajamas all day every day for the past week, sometimes the sick kid and just as often one of the adults.

In the meantime, we hosted a good friend of mine from grad school for the past four nights.  She was here for the annual American Speech-Language-Hearing Association convention that was held here in Chicago this year.  I was able to make it to two of the three days, missing one day to take care of Lyle.  I was very grateful that she is a mellow friend, one who was just as happy as I was to eat a good meal and then veg on the couch in the evenings.  It was wonderful to catch up on the past 8 years and I was sad to see her leave this morning.  I truly hope she does not end up sick after her visit with this crew of ours.

I am struck by the fact that these changes in routine and health haven’t stressed me out.  Perhaps it’s because after I work tomorrow I will be home again for six days in a row and can catch up on whatever needs doing.  It helps that we are neither traveling for nor hosting Thanksgiving this week, and that I am looking forward to making two pies on Thursday.  Or maybe it’s just a slow period at work and I feel mostly caught up.  I won’t really know until I immerse myself in it again tomorrow and think clearly about it.  But I’ve been happy to be at home whenever possible, relaxing and resting, taking care of Lyle, and playing games and reading with Baxter.  I’m aware that I’m not writing much, even though there are a lot of things to share with you all.  I’m not doing anything much when I’m at home, other than wiping noses and doling out Ibuprofen.

Winter is here, and it’s nice to hunker down by the fireplace and relax.  I’m just glad that I’ve been able to let other things go to take advantage of the opportunity, something I haven’t always been so good at.

8 responses to “My Personal Twilight Zone

  1. I hope the boys recover quickly and that they don’t share their viruses too willingly with you!!

    Happy Thanksgiving for Thursday!!

  2. We always find with the illnesses that when it rains, it pours. Hope everyone is well by the time the actual holiday rolls around. It’s one thing to miss work because you’re sick–another thing entirely to miss the HOLIDAY! Good on you for just staying home.
    E

  3. I’m sorry there’s been sickies in The Wonderhouse. We passed them around this house all last week, too. I’ve still got it.

    Enjoy your downtime. I’m glad you checked in as I was missing you.

  4. Awwww. I’ve been in the Twilight Zone myself.

    There’s something oddly comforting about it . I hope that you all feel better soon.

    Watch any good movies?

  5. Soctt rarely gets sick, but I actually like when he does b/c he is so low-key! Sorry to hear about the sicknesses but I am impressed that you were able to take it in stride, I need some of that zen momma attitude right now!

  6. This is wonderful, Jordan, sickies aside. Isn’t it great to just give in and sit by the fire, watch a movie, snuggle with the kids? I wish you many more relaxing days during the holiday season. (Something we could all use a little bit more of!)

  7. Ditto what Kristen said. I’d say more but I’m home with my own little sick one…of the messy variety, too. :-p

  8. Amen, sister. I’m getting over something and hoping the guys don’t get it. And as much as I love reading your wonderstories, it makes me happy to think of you all hunkered, reading and just enjoying each other’s company.

Leave a Reply

