Gratitude.

The temptation to vent the horrendousness of the past 5 straight hours here is overwhelming right now.  However, I have decided to forgo the emotional dump in favor of turning the hell into something positive.  Lemons into lemonade, if you will – and I know you will.  Humor me here, I think it’ll help:

– I am grateful to have two healthy children.

– I am grateful that when one of my sons needs extra help, I have access to one of the best OTs you’ll ever find, and although she is expensive I get a bit of a discount at her practice thanks to our professional connection.   It doesn’t matter what time of day the appointment is, we’re just lucky to have it and to see the improvements.

– I am grateful to have a warm house to come home to when it is very, very cold outside, and cozy blankets to wrap my sleepy kids in while I make dinner.

– I am grateful to have a refrigerator full of fresh food at my disposal when I return home, and enough knowledge to throw together something healthy for myself at 9pm rather than junk food.

– I am grateful that an ounce or two of wine is yummy enough to give me a sense of relaxation without desiring a whole glass.

– I am grateful that I can get through a stressful afternoon and evening without even thinking about chocolate, or anything sweet, for that matter.

– I am grateful for Pandora.com, which – when on the “Jordan” station – manages to consistently play my favorite songs of all time interspersed with songs I’ve never heard but love immediately. This always improves my mood.  Pandora is truly impressive.

– I am grateful that I have a job in these times that keeps me very busy; it doesn’t matter what time of day I have to get that work done.

– I am grateful that Matt has a job; it doesn’t matter if his meetings are here or in another state.

– I am grateful that I have a fun and successful way to work out in my own home when the weather is bad or Matt is out of town, as a replacement for an early morning trip to the gym.

– I’m lucky to have a roof over my head, a bed to sleep in, clothes for my family, and a car that is (somehow, and only by the grace of God) still running. I can buy food and put gas in my car without worrying about money.

In light of the above, a little hissy fit about a small series of inconveniences is beyond ludicrous.

What are you grateful for tonight?

8 responses to “Gratitude.

  1. I know exactly what you mean and I think that’s probably most of the reason why I blog, so that I can turn things around and concentrate on the plusses, bonuses and positive.

    Well done you.
    Cheers

  2. I’m grateful for perspective when you least expect it and most need it. Tuesdays are turning into Mondays around here, yet it’s all good. Pandora is just the thing sometimes, isn’t it?

  3. I’m grateful and so very proud that my neice has used every fantastic part of her personality and gifts to be all she is. good night and stay warm.
    xxxx

  4. I was just thinking how grateful I am that my children are deliriously happy and mad as hatters.
    That we have a warm home.
    That I have a job that is meaningful to me.
    That my daughter has emerged.

  5. I am grateful for the bright side. There always is one, isn’t there? Sometimes you just have to dig kind of deep to find it.

  6. So funny – I was just doing this same thing last night. Trying to stop the crabby and think about the good in my life. I am still struggling with it today, and this was good to read. I hope all is well with you!Although I am annoyed with you that you are able to get through a stressful afternoon without even THINKING of chocolate!!! 🙂 You go, girl!

  7. I’m grateful for all those things (well, I still have to go to the gym…no Wii for Mii!), too. But I am especially grateful for the friends I have made through blogging; invariably I can be made to laugh when I need to, cry when I don’t want to but might need to, and always —always— know that I am not alone and that there is always something to be grateful for. xoxo

  8. I’m grateful for many of the same things. I’m grateful for house, car, food, warmth, family… and that my children are doing fine at school and not getting bullied. I’m also grateful that I have a few people reading my blog even though you have more!

Leave a Reply

