25 Things About Me

I completed this meme that’s flying around Facebook this week:

1. Growing up, I hated my name. Everyone told me it was a boy’s name. Later in life I came to appreciate its uniqueness and now I actually dislike the fact that it’s very popular among kids.

2. Until 2nd grade, I was the only white kid in all of my classes, which were otherwise made up of African-American kids. I had no idea whatsoever that I was different from everyone else, even though I can remember a girl saying I couldn’t play at her house – and when I asked why she shook her head incredulously and told me I was “hard-headed”. Or just clueless.

3. I can remember my mom telling me when I was 5 that if I still wanted to marry my best girlfriend when I grew up, it would be fine with her. I always say that heterosexuality was wasted on me, given my open-minded family.

4. I have lived in CT, MN, MA, CA, and IL. Matt and I figured out at one point that we had moved 14 times in 16 years (including our college years). Now that we own a place, we are never, ever moving again. Ever.

5. I have always been social and outgoing. I was physically attached to the telephone throughout childhood. The older I get, the more I revel in solitude and quiet. I almost never answer the phone anymore.

6. I find sharing Christmas with my boys makes it even more magical now than it was during my own childhood.

7. I forget my own age on a regular basis; thankfully, I usually make myself older than I am, so it’s a relief when I discover I’m wrong.

8. I have never, ever colored (or highlighted) my hair, unless you count the occasional henna treatment, which I don’t. This will change sooner than I’d hoped.

9. My husband and I have the same birthday. He was born the day I turned 2.

10. I had my older son on my aunt’s 50th birthday and my younger son on my grandfather’s 85th birthday.

11. If Matt and I would consider living far from family, we would probably choose Brooklyn, NY.

12. All of my grandparents are still alive. I knew 3 of my great-grandmothers.

13. I run my own business and am the treasurer of our condo association, despite the fact that I suck at math.

14. In college, my roommate and I were known to occasionally read from Winnie the Pooh to each other at night.

15. I was suspended twice in high school. Once was for being tardy to school too often and the other was for insubordination. I had a MOUTH on me. (I’m laughing at my use of “had”…)

16. I was a regular performer growing up – choirs, plays, musicals…lots of solos and some big parts. I miss it.

17. I have only had two jobs that didn’t involve children. I worked at Lyman Orchards as a cashier my senior year of high school and at the R.C. Dicks Deli in St. Paul for 3 weeks in college. I have never worked in an office in my life.

18. I went to grad school in speech-language pathology because I was fascinated by autism and that is what I wound up specializing in years later.

19. Senior year in college, I chose to participate in an Urban Studies program instead of going abroad. It was in Chicago. I moved here and lived in an apartment just a few blocks from where we bought our first home 14 years later.

20. I am suddenly in touch with old camp friends and my best friend from elementary school whom I haven’t heard from since 1984, thanks to Facebook.

21. I am a social media junkie. I have been blogging for 4 years and am addicted to Twitter.

22. I bought an iPhone the week it came out in July 2007 and not a day has gone by when I have not loved the hell out of the thing.

23. In an education class in college, my learning style was categorized as “random abstract”. That explains a lot.

24. I do not collect a single thing. I’m pretty sure I never have.

25. The older I get, the more I realize that in being open-minded and generally unafraid of change, I view the world very differently from most people around me. It’s a little alarming sometimes, actually.

If you would like to do this, consider yourself tagged!

5 responses to “25 Things About Me

  1. Very cool, Jordan! I like the name Jordan and you are the only girl I’ve heard with the name, but I just love it and think it fits you. At least what I know of you via your love of social media. LOL

    I am the same on #5 and #24.

  2. 17. Lymans! I try to go every time I’m back in CT!
    22. I bought an iPhone because you bought an iPhone 😉

  3. Lymans indeed! I forgot to mention that I worked there in a sling for my broken collarbone! Damn. I think Apple owes me commission, I swear!

  4. And Goodfountain, I apppreciate hearing that about my name! Thank you!

  5. I knew 3 of my Great Grandmothers also! And one great grandfather. I have always felt so fortunate for that! I love your blog. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

