Oh, yes! They Did.

Matt took the boys to the grocery store today.

At one point, he asked them to stay put for a moment so he could run down the aisle and get some red peppers.

When he came back 20 nanoseconds later, he discovered Lyle, age 4 1/2, standing there in his track pants with his legs spread apart and his head down, shaking his pint-sized derriere at his brother, and saying repeatedly in a very loud and bossy voice:

“Baxter! Spit on my booty! SPIT. ON. MY. BOOTY!”

To which our 8 year old responds by – yep, you guessed it – doing so.

I can’t imagine how Matt reprimanded them with a straight face, but he reports that the most difficult part was trying to figure out which action was more objectionable and should be addressed first.

What I find most fascinating tonight is that, in the midst of this daily roller coaster ride called parenting, Matt didn’t even think to tell me this story for 5 hours.

8 responses to “Oh, yes! They Did.

  1. There is quite a bit of derriere shaking in our house too. Our son loves to “shake his booty,” as he would say. Luckily, there is no second party to do the spitting.

  2. Oh. Jesus. Christ. that almost made me pee my pants. one word: priceless.

  3. So freaking funny I just do not even know where to start.

  4. I’ve never read something that made me want to have kids more than this. Glorious.

  5. spinningyellow

    Hilarious! I love that Matt wasn’t sure which action was more objectionable! I don’t know what I would have done. Maybe this would have been a good time to pretend the kids didn’t belong to you?

  6. Oh. My. God. THAT is priceless!!!

  7. HA HA HA – I cannot stop laughing!

  8. “What I find most fascinating tonight is that, in the midst of this daily roller coaster ride called parenting, Matt didn’t even think to tell me this story for 5 hours.”

    Poor Matt. He’ll laugh about it later.

Leave a Reply

