Overnight Oatmeal

I have a great recipe to share with you but before I could post it, I had to change its name.

Which brings me to a question: do you have word phobias? Words you just can’t stand saying or hearing? I have a few, and they tend to be random – like “teen”. Can’t stand the word “teen” and I don’t think you’ll ever hear me use it.

Another of these words is “crock pot”, although I don’t think that phobia is nearly as random. The word “crock pot” is loaded. Having spent the majority of my life on the East and West Coasts, “crock pot” screams The Midwest. Not the happy little slice of Midwest that I live in and love, but what Matt and I admittedly used to refer to as “The Godforsaken Midwest” back when we were a bit younger and living in San Francisco and too cool for school, you know, in our over-priced, under-insulated flat in a foggy neighborhood on a street with no trees. I look back now and giggle a little sometimes: now that was livin’! But from that vantage point, owning a crock pot was right up there with not living near the ocean or mountains, wearing a kerchief to bed and calico dresses. Something the Pioneers might have been really into, you know, if they’d had electricity. Which they didn’t. But you get my drift.

(Sometimes I don’t even know I’m in a random mood until I start writing; does this happen to you? And now you’re thinking crock pot? More like crackpot…)

So anyway, long story longer, it didn’t take long before I drank the Kool Aid and bought a crock pot last year. Because, well, when in Rome… And I love it, Godforsaken Midwest or not. There are quite a few dishes we make in it that we adore, and here is a new one, courtesy of our fabulous friend Cara. It was originally called Crock Pot Oatmeal, but you will now understand that I had to rename it and so it is called Overnight Oatmeal.

It’s so easy that I could’ve actually given you this recipe on Twitter, but then 90% of you wouldn’t have it, and I wouldn’t have been able to share that inane story about word phobias:

Overnight Oatmeal

1 cup steel cut oats (do NOT use instant or “quick” oats!) – we like this one

4 cups water

Put the oats and the water in the crock pot when you go to bed and leave it on the low setting all night. I’ve done it for up to 9 hours and it’s been fine. It does get a thin crust around the sides in ours, but it’s easy to scoop around that. I like to put sliced apples, raisins, and/or dried cranberries in it about 45 minutes before breakfast so that they’re cooked into it, and I also pour in a little bit of real maple syrup. YUM. I put a small bowl of brown sugar on the table so that Lyle and I can fight over how much he dumps in which is extra delicious.

How do I know this is good? My hipster younger cousin from San Francisco was here over the weekend and she loved it so much that she actually ordered the same crock pot on Amazon from our house so that it would arrive in San Francisco when she got back. Just for the oatmeal! Perhaps if I’d eaten it back in the day I’d have done the same.

Enjoy!

13 responses to “Overnight Oatmeal

  1. If you spend too much time with your crock pot, you won’t have time for saucy teen activities!

  2. You. are. hilarious. And I am so glad you like it! We have Sara to thank, really! πŸ™‚ That Seattle trip was SO good for SO many reasons!! I actually like “Overnight Oatmeal” – it sounds soothing!

    And I just have to share with you all that when I made this for the first time, my six-year-old woke up and said, “Mommy, it smells like the WEEKEND.”

    If that is not a good reason to make this, what is??

  3. This poor, pathetic midwest girl is eager to try this recipe, right after I hang my calico dresses on the clothes line out back and iron my kerchiefs. πŸ˜‰

    The official term, by the way, is “slow cooker” … I’m slow cooking some vegetable soup as we type.

  4. Leave it to a college roommate to have the ability to create a sentence with all of one’s phobia words. Thanks, Julie!

    Cara, it DOES smell like the weekend! And on a work morning, what’s better than that? πŸ˜‰

    Goodfountain, I hope you know how happy I am to be a fellow Godforsaken Midwesterner. And, by the way, can I borrow your prairie skirt on Saturday night?

  5. Kate Brenner

    “Grab a bite to eat” will send me over the edge.

  6. By the way, I hate “moist”. *shudder*

    And what will you do when Baxter enters his…er…years between 13 and 18? How will you NOT say the word t**n? πŸ™‚

  7. God, moist is the worst!! Eeeew. I will call them “teenagers”, for the record. πŸ™‚

  8. My Grandpa Doug, who is 93, thinks it is actually called a crack pot and so this is how we all refer to it now.

    I am going to pass this along to my grandma, she’s always got steel cut oats laying around from when she makes oatmeal sausage!

  9. Kelley, that is *hilarious* about your grandpa!!

    Oh, and Matt found a bargain on Amazon on those steel cut oats we like — an entire box of them came today, so if anyone needs some…

  10. I just acquired a slow cooker the other week and absolutely love it! But…. although I’m not from the US, and the whole Midwest thing doesn’t apply here – I still wondered whether I should be admitting in public that I aspired to owning a slow cooker πŸ™‚ Particularly since I love quilting. Calico dresses and kerchiefs might be next!

  11. Vocabulary lesson:

    “Crockpot Gay” is the term for a domesticated, middle-aged gay man – suggesting that he is the married, Martha-Stewart type of gay rather than a young, cruise-y gay.

    My Gay just informed me.

    Just thought I’d throw that into the mix.

  12. Oh yum. I have one too (slow cooker, I mean, crockpot…not a teen…although he’s been acting like a teen…anyway.

    Yum.

    I LOVE my slow cooker. Awesome, awesome mole, soups and now yummy oatmeal.

    Woo hoo!

  13. Ha – I hesitate to bring this up, but I happen to know that Kevin purchased a horrendous hilarious Packers “crock pot” for you two for your wedding. I assumed it was passed on at some point, thus necessitating the purchase of a new, certainly much more attractive, one.

Leave a Reply

