Tales of a Fourth Grade Something

IMG_0729

Dear Baxter,

Today you finished third grade and you insist upon telling me that you’re now a – gulp –  fourth grader.

Fourth grader?  I hope you realize that this is actually impossible, given the fact that you were a cute little toddler mere hours ago.

At any rate, that kind of crazy talk is on your report card, too, along with the fact that you’re “a joy to have in the classroom” and that you’ve been assigned the same teacher as many of your best friends next year.  What a relief not to have to deal with that kind of disappointment all summer.

You continue to be a bright ray of sunshine in my life, and I’m so proud of both your many great accomplishments and your relaxed approach to school.  You have helped me to remember that no one is an expert at everything and that despite your high achievement in most areas, you are going to struggle in some things, just like everyone else.  The fact that this does not trouble you is a true strength, sweet boy.  We could all do with a little more of your relaxed attitude.

We celebrated with a special trip to the Art Institute yesterday morning, where I followed your lead to explore whatever your heart desired for a couple hours.  (Okay, I’ll admit I did lead us through the new Modern Wing just to take a peek, but you didn’t seem to mind at all.)  I told you that one of the best parts of this trip for me was that you found rooms in that museum that I’d never seen before, and we discovered all kinds of amazing things together for the first time: the Miniature Rooms, the children’s book art, and the little corner of the cafeteria where we looked out on the grey, rainy courtyard and you mused, “You know, Mommy?  I think things look even more beautiful in the rain.”

And I think that’s what parenting is all about.  If I let you take the lead and show me around this world, my boy, I’ll discover beauty and wonder that didn’t exist for me before.  Even in the rain.

Happy Summer Vacation.  You’ve earned it, sweetheart.

Love,

Mommy

5 responses to “Tales of a Fourth Grade Something

  1. Lovely… absolutely lovely!!

  2. Wow, what a great post. And what an amazing guy.

  3. *sniffle* *clears throat* Pardon me, my “allergies” must be acting up this morning.

    Another beautiful letter to your boy. *sigh* FOURTH grade? I remember that as a big time in my young life. Wow. Enjoy the ride!

  4. aw, so sweet.
    I hope you save this for him to read someday.

  5. Please tell me you keep these in a book that you’ll give to him when he graduates and goes to college.

Leave a Reply

