Lyle’s iPhone – er – Violin

Hey, Wonderfriends, remember that awful violin lesson I wrote about here last week?  Well, I am so happy – no, ecstatic is more like it – to tell you that we found an amazing teacher who manages to combine learning with FUN and teaches in a completely developmentally appropriate way (I KNOW!).  Lyle loved her from the first moment he met her, and at the end of his lesson whispered to me, “Violin is actually pretty fun!  Miss Heather is really fun!”  He learned an enormous amount in his first half hour alone and even, get this, got to compose his first piece of music.  On the easel, Miss Heather made little lines for him to fill in the names of each string and said he could arrange them any way he wanted.  She also encouraged him to name it.  What a great way to get kids started early with reading music!  (So far, his compositions in lessons have been called “Lyle’s Pizza” and “Blue and Red Mouses”.)  Since he is almost-but-not-quite yet at the point of actually getting that bow on the violin strings, he is plucking the songs.

Tonight at home he asked if he could write a song when we were practicing – who could say “no” to that?  I know he was proud because he let me videotape it; lately he doesn’t want his picture taken at all (only he’s allowed to take them, apparently).  And, yes, I do know that we need to work on getting that instrument up onto his shoulder, but I wasn’t about to interrupt the creative process tonight!

So, without further ado, here is my sweet, stuffy-nosed and tired but deeply-into-it guy composing a little ditty (you’ll love what he names it!) – and I apologize profusely in advance for my coughing fit in the middle:

And then, here he is, playing it for the first time:

I don’t think it would be possible for me to be more pleased.  I’m so proud of this little guy for persevering after his first awful experience and doing such a great job!

5 responses to “Lyle’s iPhone – er – Violin

  1. How awesome is that??!! I’ve been meaning and meaning to write you a note saying “find a better teacher!” and I’m so glad to hear that you have. It’s such a joy to watch the happy child discover the nuts and bolts of music, and I can’t imagine trying to make them if they didn’t want to.

    I love “Lyle’s iphone”. Iris’s favorite compositions to play are “Butterfly Doom” and “Trees are Blowing”. Very evocative.

  2. This is marvelous! The pride and joy on that sweet little face. *sigh*

  3. Oh my gosh – this is so amazing! I’m hoping we can find some private music lessons when we move. All of my kids are so musical.

    What a cream puff!

    xo

  4. Too cute for words.

  5. We found your blog on a web search. Guess what? I am Lyle too, and I play the violin! You can see me on youtube – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ouq474u-DiM or just search on “Lyle violin”…

    I am learning by the suzuki method.

    keep practicing!

    Lyle (age 11).

Leave a Reply

