Outsmarted

This afternoon found me once again sitting in my parked car for a prolonged period of time. This time around, the reason was that Lyle – who did not need a nap today, oh no, don’t be ridiculous! – passed out in the car on the way home from picking up Baxter. He neither moved a muscle when we dropped off another child nor when we pulled into the driveway and I cut the engine, so I decided to let him sleep a bit. Baxter had a book in his backpack and I had my iPhone, so we were all set. I was feeling a little proud of myself that today I was not letting the engine run – not with that brand new battery I had to spring for this morning.

*cringe*

After about half an hour of companionable silence, Baxter leaned forward, earnest face millimeters from mine, and whispered, “Mommy? I was thinking, since Lyle’s still asleep, that maybe you could move over there,” pointing to the passenger seat, “and I could sit here and pretend to drive for a while?” Who could resist such cuteness? I moved my stuff and clambered over to the right side of the front seat.

As Baxter climbed up front, he whispered happily (not knowing anything about yesterday’s escapade with the car and thereby proving that he really is already smarter than me), “And since the car’s not on, we don’t even have to wear our seat belts!

Sigh.

8 responses to “Outsmarted

  1. I’m picturing this little scenario and smiling.

    I never mastered the art of transferring SB to his crib or bed after he fell asleep in the car, which he did quite often when he was younger. As a result, we spent many an hour sitting in a parked car. I laughed when I read your post yesterday b/c it took me awhile before I realized neither the engine nor the seatbelt needed to be on at these times.

  2. Hee hee…. (but, I am laughing with you, not at you!……)

  3. Yep, he’s waaaaay ahead of you…and most of us, too! 😉

  4. Cue the rimshot.
    Smart kid…even though he was born of dork loins…
    (I kid, I kid!)

  5. Hi Jordan, I have a question for you. Do I remember reading you use SCERTS? If so, can you email me at cdcmail at gmail so I can ask you about it. Thanks!

  6. That’s good stuff. He’s a smart one. (How long before he’s the one with the iPhone in the driver’s seat and you’re the one in the back with the book?)

    P.S. I love the new blog layout – it makes it worth the while to click over from my RSS reader…

Leave a comment